Goldwater and Astronaut Scholarships: Information for Honor Students in STEM Fields

Wednesday, October 24, 2018 - 3:00pm
Griffis Hall - Room 307

Additional Information

The Office of Prestigious External Scholarships is hosting a come-and-go information session honor students interested in the Goldwater and Astronaut Scholarships on Wednesday, October 24, from 3:00-4:00 in Griffis Hall, Room 307. 

The Goldwater and the Astronaut Scholarships are the nation's most prestigious undergraduate scholarship for students in STEM fields, awarding between $7,500-$10,000 for a student's remaining year (s) of study. The Goldwater scholarship goes to students who are committed to earning a doctorate in their discipline and both scholarships look for students who have significant faculty-led research experience resulting in posters or conference papers. The Astronaut Scholarship values leadership and industry experience as two of its criteria as well.

The scholarships are open to sophomores or juniors who have strong GPAs (at least 3.7, but likely higher) and/or who have done faculty-sponsored research at MSU or through an REU at another university. In the past six years, Mississippi State has had four Goldwater winners and eight honorable mention recipients. Last year’s Goldwater winner from MSU was physics major Nic Ezzell.  MSU is guaranteed to have one Astronaut Scholarship this year. Last year’s recipient was Phong Ly from Civil Engineering.

MSU students who have won these awards have gone on to graduate school at Stanford (Aerospace), Baylor Medical School, NC State (Veterinary Science), SUNY Stony Brook (physics), Georgia Tech,  and Virginia Tech (Civil Engineering, Physics).

For more information, please see the Goldwater website:  and go to to begin the pre-application process. Visit the Astronaut Scholarship website: