The Office of External Prestigious Scholarships at The Shackouls Honors College is proud to announce that the winner of the 2017 Goldwater Scholarship is Jackson Coole. Jackson is a biological engineering major and is the third winner of the Goldwater Scholarship in six years. Jackson joins Johnie Sublett (2016 winner) and Matthew Berk (2012 winner) as Goldwater recipients from The Shackouls Honors College and from the College of Engineering.

Sabrina Moore, also a Shackouls Honors College student, has received a 2017 Goldwater Scholarship honorable mention. Sabrina is a microbiology and chemistry double major and is the eighth Goldwater honorable mention in the last six years.